Trumpet cupcakes

I’m ashamed to say it has been over a month since I last blogged.  That is not to say it has been over a month since I last baked, on the contrary the oven has barely had a rest, I just have had no time to sit and write.

Stories still to come

Stories still to come

I’ve already mentioned that I have a day job, alongside which I do this which leaves little time for the baking cupboard to be opened and the creative cake muscles to be flexed. However, in the last few months I have squeezed in midnight baking sessions, the result of which are many unwritten cake stories – an ice-cream cake, hen party cakes (although one set of hen party cakes is perhaps too tasteless for this blog), Airfix cakes, 1-hour challenge cake, French dark chocolate cake, owl cakes and an amp cake, but today I am going to tell you about my friend Angie and the cakes I made for her birthday last year.

Angie and I met during an internship when I was fresh out of University.  We quickly bonded over a shared love of big hair, music and Marmite. We only worked together for a few months but have stayed in touch ever since, meeting up to share stories, drink gin and play music.  Angie has many interests and is very easy to think of cake themes for, in fact the challenge was to decide on which theme to go with.  As she is a fantastic trumpet player (she plays in the brilliant band Patch and the Giant) I decided to recreate a similar idea to the trumpet cupcake I had previously made on a much larger scale to take to her birthday picnic.

trumpetcakes

I decided on cupcakes rather than a big cake covered in trumpets as it is always easier to transport and distribute cupcakes. The little trumpets were made from marzipan sprayed with edible gold paint finished with little gold sugar balls.

I also originally wanted to include little accordion cakes as Angie is the only person I’ve ever seen play trumpet and accordion at the same time:

Angie

But unfortunately I ran out of time to figure out how to make convincing little accordions… there is always next birthday!

I can highly recommend Patch and the Giant, for many things including wonderful music, a multitalented trumpet/accordion player and just a bloody fun gig.

trumpetcakesingle

Leave a Reply

