Narwhal and Puffincat

I’ve already recounted a story about Clê my housemate and trying to ninja bake for her, so when her birthday came around this year, I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep a cake a secret. I decided there was only one thing for it – I just had to ban her from the kitchen one night.  This was my solution (I call her Shrimp):

Keep out!She was suitably furious at being kept out of the kitchen. Clê doesn’t like not being in control and to add insult to injury, I offered her a plate of broken biscuits as a snack while she couldn’t enter.  There was a reason that they were broken biscuits, but she didn’t know what the reason was…

Around this time Clê had taken to waking me up in the morning by jumping on my bed, ‘beaching’ herself and making narwhal noises. I don’t really know how it came about apart from she has an affinity with narwhals and she is a big fan of the bath – when she takes a 3-4 hour long bath, we refer to it as ‘narwhalling’.  With all the narwhal references flying about it was clear that there was only one way to go with her cake theme this year.  It wasn’t until the last minute that I decided to incorporate one of Clê’s other obsessions – Puffincat. It’s a cartoon about a cross between a puffin and a cat that Clê like to reference, a lot.  I’m not sure I can explain puffincat very well, just watch the link.

Once I had decided to have puffincat on the cake as well as a Narwhal I realised he needed something to stand on so I made him a raft, constructed of broken biscuits painted in dark chocolate.  It took a lot of broken biscuits to get the raft right, hence I had a plate of superfluous broken biscuits which I chose to offer as a snack.

Perhaps the oddest cake yet, but here is what you make if you happen to have a really eccentric house mate who loves narwhals and puffincat.

Narwhal 3Getting the right blue for the ocean and keeping it looking wet were important to this design; I ended up dying the fondant icing blue but then using blue food dye gel like paint over the top of the already blue icing to give the different shades and glossy look.

I made it so the Narwhal and Puffincat were looking at each other in confusion, because, lets face it, it’s a pretty confusing cake. I think Clê liked it, despite being furious about being locked out of the kitchen and being fed broken biscuits.

closeups

Leave a Reply

