Easter Cupcakes

These little cakes were for Easter 2012.

Easter Cupcakes 2012

I found the little Easter bunnies, chicks and egg chocolates in Aldi and set about thinking how to use them in a cake design. I ended up making cupcakes rather than a large cake as they are easier to divide in an office and can be left about as if from the Easter Bunny!

One of my pet hates with this sort of design is when people pick off the wrapped chocolates and leave the cake, but there was something really pleasing about the green grass cupcakes before I put on the Easter chocolate.

photo 1 (11)

I’m sure there are plenty of other designs in my future that start with this lawn of cupcake… Golf! Horses! Gardening! (you get the idea)

The only thing about this Easter design is that I’m at a bit of a loss on how to out do it this year. I’m always on the look out for interesting sweets and chocolates to use in decorating and have found something new but I don’t know if I can think of a design to beat these. Watch this space…

Last Easter my mum asked me to decorate her traditional simnel cake for the family. I wasn’t allowed to freestyle (as I am with the family Christmas cake) so had to stick with the traditional 11 marzipan balls to represent the Disciples of Christ (minus Judas). I didn’t have a blowtorch so stood there for ages browning the marzipan with a hob lighter(!) I wouldn’t recommend it as a technique, but here is the result, to prove I can be traditional… with extreme duress.

photo (14)

2 thoughts on “Easter Cupcakes

  1. Instead of standing far ages with a hob lighter, why not pop it under the grill for 2 minutes? Perfect results! Love the blog xx

Leave a Reply

